As an atheist I don’t partake in rituals, rites or celebrations based on religious beliefs. But I’m certainly not going to let a little non-belief get in my way of a vegan Easter egg.
Whilst trolling around Sainsbury’s supermarket on Cromwell Road in London for a snack, I stumbled upon a delectable-looking treat in the section reserved for food allergies and specialist diets. The freefrom Easter egg stood tall on the top shelf and beckoned me with its yellow wrapping, shiny bow and cheeky swing tag advertising its vegan status. I was so taken by the snappy appearance of this seasonal snack that I was on the verge of offering to buy it a drink. Gift-wrapped, vegan chocolate doesn’t fall into my FGV lap everyday, so I barely hesitated as I swooped it up and deposited it into my shopping basket.
In an unusual display of self-restraint, I waited until I was home before investigating the contents. The wait was worthwhile. The chocolate was dark and bitter. The tang of the egg was perfectly balanced. I’m not a fan of strong chocolate and was delighted to discover this dark egg was not overwhelming. Things improved further on my discovery of a small box of vegan, chocolate discs nestled within the package. Delightful.
In bonus news for gluten intolerant readers, the egg is also GF. Everybody wins. It doesn’t matter if you buy Easter eggs for religious reasons or not, Sainsbury’s allows you to do it in cruelty-free style.