How much

Being a frequent traveller, I am used to the exorbitant prices charged for food items at airports. I am not sure if the food vendors are paying a premium for the space or they have just discovered people will pay anything because they are trapped in that location.

Let’s play a guessing game.

How much do you think I paid for this vegan salad at Los Angeles International Airport last week? The answer is below the photo in US dollars. Take a guess and then scroll down to see how close you were.

cobb closed

cobb open

 

Ready for the answer?

Answer: $16 including tax.

Is that a lot of money for a salad? What is the most expensive airport meal you have paid for in the past? Tell me below!

 

About fatgayvegan

Fat. Gay. Vegan. Vegan everything including events, beer, food, PR and travel.
This entry was posted in I'll pay you to cook for me, Taking the long way around, Vegan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to How much

  1. Currency converter says that’s £9.57. I mean it looks like a delicious salad and there is a lot of it, but I think a little creative license has been added to the price. Travel food – what a nightmare!

  2. Mary H. says:

    Ooh- we paid close to $50(US) for some salad and drinks at CDG in Paris. Nothing else was open and we had a stopover on our way to Nairobi. Ridiculous!

  3. That is ridiculous! 😦 Like you, though, I would have gone ahead and paid it so that I could have something healthy and vegan to eat. Crazy!!

  4. Anette says:

    Not so chocking. My guess was 20$…. Norway is an expensive place you know 😉

  5. Angela says:

    I guessed $14-$16 so I guess I was about right. That really doesn’t sound bad for airport food, especially if it was good. Crummy airport food costs about that or more so I wouldn’t mind paying that for something decent.

  6. kdisleaze says:

    Was it nice at least? 😉

Leave a Reply

